Sweet review from Decapitated Dan

27 Jun

Yesterday I was chuffed to receive a kind and thoughtful review for Zombolette from Decapitated Dan, which made me reflect a little on my influences. Mr Dan writes,

“Fans of Lenore or Johnny the Homicidal Maniac should just save some time and go buy this book now, because it is right up your alley.”

Read the full review HERE.

…And I hope they will! 😛

The first comics I really really loved, in the order I found them, were Calvin and Hobbes, Johnny the Homicidal Maniac, and Lenore. Everyone always spots Lenore and JTHM in my work, and I hope that one day someone recognises the sweetness of Calvin and Hobbes in there too. I wonder if I write this way because those things influence me, or if I like those comics because they hit on things I already wanted to write. Maybe/probably both. Actually, there’s lots of Ren and Stimpy and a whole whack of Black Books in there too – TV is what mainly influences me, and ultimately where I hope to wind up.

A long time ago I felt self-conscious about my influences being recognisable, but then I changed my mind about that. Jim Jarmusch probably relaxed the butt-holes of many young creatives when he said, “Authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent”.

P.S., Getting reviews is my all-time favourite thing. If you are a person who wants to review one of my books for your website/blog, let me know and I’ll arrange a copy for you!

2 Responses to “Sweet review from Decapitated Dan”

  1. Decapitated Dan September 1, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    I wouldn’t say it’s easily recognizable, but it does fit into the 90’s SLG style of great dark humor indie books.

    • Scarlette Baccini September 2, 2013 at 6:40 am #

      I really miss that whole era, I’ve struggled to find many comics I love since then!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: