Zombolette’s Floppy #2

18 Sep

I’m 18 pages into a 29-page Zombolette story. My fears are threefold:
1. 29 pages might be too long for such an idiotic story
2. The art at the beginning is so much worse than the art I’m currently working on… but I don’t want to go back and re-work it when I’ve already spent way too long making this dumb book
3. It’s so dumb, guys

But, I’m very excited to be over the hump and on the home stretch. SUPER excited to finally almost have a new book to share with the world.

Excerpt from Zombolette's Floppy #2

Excerpt from Zombolette’s Floppy #2

Bug

27 Jan

This comic is called ‘Bug’. It’s my first attempt at colouring a whole comic story. I learnt a lot about how to colour stuff in a way that takes a really really long time to edit together.

‘Bug’ was shortlisted for the Lord Mayor’s Creative Writing Award (for ‘graphic short story’), so that’s pretty nice really.

All the shortlists and winners.
The winning graphic short story ‘The Bolt Report’, by David Blumenstein.

Page one was also used as the cover art for a single by my band Dear Plastic.

I think the story is too short to print, and I’m not really sure what to do with it other than share it here. The girl is based on my little sister Paisley.

Image

Weird_Bug_2

Weird_Bug_3 Weird_Bug_4

Weird_Bug_5

Weird_Bug_6

Weird_Bug_7

Weird_Bug_8

My secret tracing shame

2 Jul

What with all the recent controversy in Australian comics, I felt the need to come clean about something. You see, I too have been using the illegal drawing technique of tracing to create “original” artwork.

People may not realise it, since the final product doesn’t tend to look exactly like a photograph, but nearly every drawing of Zombolette has actually been traced from a photo of Kylie Minogue. In the interest of full disclosure, I’ve included an example of my process below.

tracing

Man, it feels really good to finally get that off my chest.

Sweet review from Decapitated Dan

27 Jun

Yesterday I was chuffed to receive a kind and thoughtful review for Zombolette from Decapitated Dan, which made me reflect a little on my influences. Mr Dan writes,

“Fans of Lenore or Johnny the Homicidal Maniac should just save some time and go buy this book now, because it is right up your alley.”

Read the full review HERE.

…And I hope they will! 😛

The first comics I really really loved, in the order I found them, were Calvin and Hobbes, Johnny the Homicidal Maniac, and Lenore. Everyone always spots Lenore and JTHM in my work, and I hope that one day someone recognises the sweetness of Calvin and Hobbes in there too. I wonder if I write this way because those things influence me, or if I like those comics because they hit on things I already wanted to write. Maybe/probably both. Actually, there’s lots of Ren and Stimpy and a whole whack of Black Books in there too – TV is what mainly influences me, and ultimately where I hope to wind up.

A long time ago I felt self-conscious about my influences being recognisable, but then I changed my mind about that. Jim Jarmusch probably relaxed the butt-holes of many young creatives when he said, “Authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent”.

P.S., Getting reviews is my all-time favourite thing. If you are a person who wants to review one of my books for your website/blog, let me know and I’ll arrange a copy for you!

Caravan of Comics 2

28 May

The second caravan has returned to earth after two and a half weeks of hectic but wonderful madness. I’m still a bit crazy with jetlag and feeling sore and confused after seeing behind the curtain of the Real World. I have photos and stories… I’ll post some of them here, why not?

001

Continue reading

Oooold drawings

2 May

I found a book of cartoons from when I was in grade 3! This was when I really officially decided I was going to be a cartoonist.
Tinny the Tin of Cat Food was one of my earliest characters…

Tinny

The Naked Launch Beat writeup!

25 Apr

In case y’all missed last week’s issue of Beat magazine…Image

Only one glaring error in the book titles! I’m quickly learning that every article ever will have an error, or make you look like a douchebag, or both.