Tag Archives: JTHM

Sweet review from Decapitated Dan

27 Jun

Yesterday I was chuffed to receive a kind and thoughtful review for Zombolette from Decapitated Dan, which made me reflect a little on my influences. Mr Dan writes,

“Fans of Lenore or Johnny the Homicidal Maniac should just save some time and go buy this book now, because it is right up your alley.”

Read the full review HERE.

…And I hope they will! 😛

The first comics I really really loved, in the order I found them, were Calvin and Hobbes, Johnny the Homicidal Maniac, and Lenore. Everyone always spots Lenore and JTHM in my work, and I hope that one day someone recognises the sweetness of Calvin and Hobbes in there too. I wonder if I write this way because those things influence me, or if I like those comics because they hit on things I already wanted to write. Maybe/probably both. Actually, there’s lots of Ren and Stimpy and a whole whack of Black Books in there too – TV is what mainly influences me, and ultimately where I hope to wind up.

A long time ago I felt self-conscious about my influences being recognisable, but then I changed my mind about that. Jim Jarmusch probably relaxed the butt-holes of many young creatives when he said, “Authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent”.

P.S., Getting reviews is my all-time favourite thing. If you are a person who wants to review one of my books for your website/blog, let me know and I’ll arrange a copy for you!

Scaryminds Review

1 Oct

In case anyone missed Scaryminds’ outlandishly lovely review of Zombolette, here’s a snippet of what they had to say:

“There is no room for Twilight in Zombolette, though our zombie gal is infinitely more interesting than the rather droll Bella. Baccini develops her character well, doesn’t let the overall personality falter at any stage, and for mine presents a concept that should have most dark genre dreamers taking names and notes. Zombolette joins Killeroo as one of the great Aussie creations that alas remains under the radar of the vast majority of comic book readers. I’m not going to say much more, read the book to get the good oil, but if the concept of a zombie with body armour made up of tampons, with an IUD helmet appeals, then dial on in, that’s just for starters. Scarlette Baccini is either stark raving mad, or an unsung genius of the script, your call!”

Read the full review here:
http://www.scaryminds.com/reviews/2012/comic083.php

If you are someone who would also like to review Zombolette, please let me know so I can arrange a copy for you.